The Ohio House, located in West Fairmount Park, is one of two buildings remaining from the Centennial Exhibition in 1876. It boasts distinctive exterior masonry: an inventory of nineteenth-century Ohio sandstones with the names of quarries and stone companies carved on the first floor, and vertical wooden siding and clapboard gables on the second floor. The interior was designed for display space. Since the Exhibition, the building has been under the care of the Fairmount Park Commission. It was listed as a contributing structure on the National Register in 1972, and was rehabilitated for the Bicentennial Celebration in 1976. In late 2006, Ohio House was leased to Ohio House Partners by the Fairmount Park Historic Preservation Trust for adaptive reuse as a café, event venue and offices. The building underwent extensive restoration and opened to the public in November 2007. The Fairmount Park Historic Preservation Trust congratulates Ohio House Partners on their investment in one of Fairmount Park’s unique historic treasures.
Open daily from 7-4PM the Café serves a full breakfast featuring the best oatmeal in town. A tempting lunch menu offers a variety of salads including the Café’s signature Centennial Salad, an extensive sandwich selection famous for Groovy’s smoked brisket sandwich and a varied dessert line with the freshest, sweetest coconut cake this side of the Delaware River! Visit the Café today and enjoy the unique historical ambience and fantastic food all available in beautiful Fairmount Park.
Map and Directions
View Larger Map